The Guild of Book Workers was founded in 1906 “… to establish and maintain a feeling of kinship and mutual interest among workers in the several hand book crafts.” Among its early members are well-known artist-craft workers such as bookbinder Edith Diehl and printers and typographers W.A. Dwiggins and Frederic W. Goudy.

The Guild still believes, as did its founders, that there is a responsibility among civilized people to sustain the crafts involved with the production of fine books. Its members hope to broaden public awareness of the hand book arts, to stimulate commissions of fine bindings, and to stress the need for sound book conservation and restoration.

The Lone Star Chapter supports the mission of the Guild of Book Workers by offering workshops, exhibitions, lectures and other events in the Texas region.

The Lone Star Chapter serves members in Texas but welcomes Guild of Book Workers members from all regions. Chapter officers are:

President: Tish Brewer

Secretary/Treasurer: Catherine Burkhard

Communications Director: Virginia Green

Events Coordinator: Jeanne Goodman